EAT Your Heart Out

Craft

Restaurant: Craft New York

Location: New York City

After-Taste: There needs to be a word that stands for eating, eternal happiness, love and utter bliss. That’s what Craft New York is. My experience at this restaurant may quite possibly be the highlight of my life. Yes, I said it. LIFE. I am a HUGE Tom Colicchio fan thanks to the greatest television show in existence: Top Chef. He is so knowledgeable and passionate about food, not to mention he is one of the most respected chefs in the culinary world. Plus he’s a straight-up badass. One of my life goals has been to just SEE his restaurant: Craft. I didn’t need to go in it or eat there, I just wanted to stand in front of it and absorb the culinary energy. My friends surprised me with reservations and when I was told, I just stood there and cried. I love surprises and I love dreams coming true. And this was a double-whammy! The service was superb. I’ve never been treated so well at a dining establishment. I think they could tell how excited we were, so they brought out a couple complimentary dishes courtesy of the chef. AHHH! I had my first try of foie gras (I’m soooo classy now) and roasted baby artichokes. The gnocchi was amazing. The scallops were amazing. The beet salad was amazing. The steak was amazing. EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING. I literally could not have been happier. As I was eating the most divine food and enjoying the family-style, comfort food feel, I was getting swept away in the music. I’m pretty sure they had my iPod playing over the speakers, because every song was a favorite of mine. Do you know how amazing it was to eat the best steak you’ve ever had while listening to Ray Lamontagne’s “Trouble” and Louis Armstrong’s “What a Wonderful World?” I’ll tell you. Really really REALLY amazing. I had moments where my friends were just looking at me smiling and staring into space. I may or may not have gotten a little choked up with happiness. At the end of the dinner experience, they brought us homemade muffins for the next morning (slash midnight snack). Oh Tom Colicchio, you are my hero. It was not only the best meal, but the best experience I’ve ever had. I will never forget it and I hope to return.

Link: Craft New York

Leave a Reply

