Afternoon Tea Your Heart Out

026 Tea

Venue: The Empress

Location: Victoria, B.C.

After-Tea: When you visit Victoria, High Tea is the thing to do. Going to afternoon tea may seem a bit presumptuous and snoody; but trust me, if I go and enjoy it, you will too. My best friend and I aren’t the classiest of folk, but we still had a blast and enjoyed every minute. When you first walk into the “Tea Room” there is a woman playing classical songs on the piano. It was then that I realized this ain’t no Applebees. The views are amazing and the service is impeccable. Pinkies were definitely out! I’m not normally a tea drinker, but when I got the “Empress Blend” and added some sugar, I was downing it. So delicious! It starts out with the tea and a dish of fresh strawberries and whipped cream. That was eaten in about, oh I don’t know, 30 seconds. Then comes the tray. OH THE TRAY! Bottom layer: SANDWICHES. Middle layer: SCONES. Top Layer: PASTRIES. O.M.G! When I first looked at it, I said, “Pshh! I’ll eat all of this no problem!” Well, turns out it’s harder than you think. Everything was so tasty and feels like a three-course meal. My favorite is actually the scone. When you smother it with butter (they call it “Empress Cream” [ok maybe it’s a little snoody]) and jam, oh boy, you’ll be wishing for more. The meal ends with a complimentary box of their Empress Blend tea bags. The delicious meal in such a beautiful setting is unforgettable! Nothing better than tea and strumpets! [please tell me you got the Dumb and Dumber reference…]

Link: Afternoon Tea at the Empress

Leave a Reply

