Run (Or Cheer) Your Heart Out

Marathon

Event: Seattle Marathon

Location: 26 miles around Seattle

After-Run (Or Cheer): My friend is a machine!!! I’m so proud of Nick, also known as Dick Diamond, for completing the grueling Seattle Marathon! Talk about one of the most inspiring days I’ve ever experienced! The whole time I imagined what it would be like to cross the finish line with all my friends shouting my name after months of training. Will that ever happen? Probably not – I can barely manage a 5K, let’s be real. But did I picture it and think about possibly training for a half-marathon? Yes, so I figure that’s accomplishment enough. Anyway, enough about me. I want to give major props for everyone who finished the half and full marathon – you are all so bad-ass!!! My friends Pat, Rob, and I downloaded the Map My Run app and followed Nick on his run. If you ever do a run like this, sign up for Map My Run so your friends can follow you!! We drove down to Leschi park with our signs, parked by the road, opened all of my car doors and blasted Katy Perry’s “Roar” and Survivor’s “Eye of the Tiger.” We had a dance party and cheered everyone on – it was AWESOME!! This was at about mile 18, so everyone looked miserable. I can’t tell you how cool it was to be dancing and cheering everyone on and seeing all the runners turn their sweaty, exhausted frowns upside down. They are all my heroes, truly. Then from afar we could see the infamous rainbow shirt. It was Nick!! Pat was an awesome friend and ran with him for about a mile and then we picked him up and drove to the finish line. It was here that we saw runners of all shapes and sizes cross the finish line. What an accomplishment! We saw Nick running in and we shouted his name as he crossed the line – he did it, sick with the cold and all!! I was so happy to be there and witness it. Thank you to all the runners for inspiring me! We’ll see if I can eventually graduate from a measly 5K!

Link: Seattle Marathon

Leave a Reply

