Prost Your Heart Out

Leavenworth

Venue: Munchen Haus

Location: Leavenworth, WA

After-Taste: It’s that time of year again!! It’s the Silbaugh/Morrison Annual Trip to Leavenworth! This is the second year that my friends and I make the trek over to Spokane for Christmas break….instead of driving 4-5 hours on I-90, we decided it would be a lot more fun to take a night-long detour and stay in Leavenworth for some shenanigans! We decided to stay at the Sleeping Lady Resort again this year because it honestly is one of the best resorts in Washington. There wasn’t as much snow this year, so the sled hill was pretty much mud. Did that stop us from sledding? Absolutely not. This year I came prepared by bringing a couple cheap sleds and it was so much fun riding down close to 20 times. The good thing about sledding in mud? No lines!! We also did a bunch of wine-tasting and got a little sauced up. Can’t go a year without Gluhwein [glue-vine] – “Christmas in a Glass”! Before we went to the resort for the amazing buffet dinner, we had to make a stop at the Munchen Haus (for a hot dog appetizer, duh). When I think of Leavenworth, I think of the Hat Shop and the Munchen Haus. It’s a staple in Leavenworth, and that’s made obvious by the wait to get a seat. It’s worth the wait!! The brats are out of this world. The best part (in my honest opinion) is the MUSTARD BAR. They have a display of about 20 different mustards and it was my own sort of Heaven. I looked over at the man trying to pick out his mustard and I may have had a tear in my eye, and I said, “This is overwhelming, I want them all.” He gave me a pat on the back and said, “We can do it.” It was a special  moment. I decided to go with the Garlic and Onion Mustard and it was a great decision. We posted up at a Bavarian-style wooden table by the fireplace. There is nothing better than eating a brat with sauerkraut, grilled onions, mustard, and a nice cold beer….the people I was chowing down with were pretty awesome too. ;-) Can I just teleport there now?? If you pass through Leavenworth, pretty please promise me that you’ll get a brat at Munchen Haus! You’ll be one of the lucky ones!!

Link: Munchen Haus

Leave a Reply

