Reminisce Your Heart Out

Gramma

Location: Green Acres, WA

After-Stay: During my Christmas break at home, my family went out to visit my Grandma. It’s one of my favorite things to do. My Grampa passed away Christmas morning 4 years ago and it was one of the hardest days ever. When everyone else was waking up and getting excited to open presents, my family was in the hospital trying to come to sorts with losing one of the most important people in our lives. My Gramma is probably the most amazing human being I know. Her love with my Grampa was unreal – they were inseparable, they played in a band together (they would tour retirement homes…I’m not kidding), she never even learned how to drive because my Grampa drove everywhere. My Gramma is so strong and has such an inspiration for coming through with losing my Grampa. For a long time, my Gramma couldn’t even listen to music because it would make her too sad. But she’s come a long way – now it’s music that brings her peace and takes her to a place where she feels with my Grampa again. While I was with her on this day, I asked if she would play a couple songs and she was happy to do so. What’s amazing is she has a bunch of music books with timeless classics, but they don’t have music notes – they only have the lyrics. My Gramma uses the lyrics to remember the chords and it all comes back to her. It was amazing to watch! I snapped this picture and it makes me so happy. I love how it shows her doing what she loves most with her wedding band from my Grampa hugging her finger. It was a very special moment that I’m happy I have a picture of. Just thought I would share it with you. To me, this picture is happiness. :)

Leave a Reply

