Cook Your Heart Out

Tom Kah Gai

Recipe: Tom Kha Gai (Thai Chicken Coconut Soup)

Location: Your Kitchen

After-Taste: My New Year’s Resolution is to cook more, so my Mom and I decided to get a jump-start on the resolution by making one of my favorite soups ever. Every time I go to a Thai restaurant, I always get Tom Kha Gai – it’s a creamy, coconut soup with a bit of a kick. [commence drooling] It was a super fun adventure to do with my Mom because we went to an Asian market to get most of the ingredients. This recipe requires quite a few different ingredients that you can’t find in your local Safeway (for instance, kaffir lime leaves and galangal root). Luckily the recipe only calls for a small portion of these unique ingredients, so you can freeze the rest and use later…because trust me, you will want to make this soup again. The prepping of the soup is the hardest part – it’s pretty time consuming. But this is me talking, and I’m not a very great cook, so I’m sure it would take the average cook half the time it took me. Once you get everything prepped, you literally put it all in a pot, wait a bit, and it’s good to go! The soup was so delicious and it was so much fun eating it at home. It also introduced me to curry paste and now I’m obsessed! I want to put that stuff on everything! Going forward, you may start seeing a few more recipe posts since I really want to stick to my New Year’s Resolution…so wish me luck!!

Link: Tom Kha Gai Recipe

Leave a Reply

