Hard Boil Your Heart Out

Eggs

Recipe: Homemade Mayo & Egg Salad

Location: Your Kitchen

After-Taste: I’m slightly ashamed to admit this….actually, very ashamed. I have never made hard-boiled eggs. Yup. I said it. Can you tell why my New Year’s Resolution is to cook more? It’s because I barely know how to do anything in the kitchen and I really want to feel like a real human being and know how to at least COOK A HARD BOILED EGG. Sheesh, sometimes I think I’m very pathetic. But that motivates me – because you know what? When I peeled those eggs and saw perfectly cooked eggs that I could turn into a salad? I couldn’t have been more excited! Seriously, I am a 26 year old that gets giddy after successfully making eggs. Anyway, you get the idea. Me in the kitchen = a (long) learning process. BUT, get this, not only did I make my first batch of hard-boiled eggs, I also made homemade mayo for my first time! Let the giddiness commence! This process was hilarious – it is a very good test of patience…and tolerance. I used my blender and you have to pour the oil at an extremely slow rate. It’s a great workout for the arm, let me tell you! But once the eggs, oil, and mustard salt turn into a thick mayo – it got me jumping up and down with excitement! It made a huge mess, but I didn’t care. It was all worth it! It’s healthy(er) and delicious! Plus, you can add so many things to it to turn into different dressings/sauces/aioli’s/etc. I used this mayo for my egg salad (eggs, mayo, pickles, green onion, mustard, and paprika) and it was a perfect afternoon snack. Most people can do this kind of recipe in their sleep, but I’m very proud of myself! My brother is a chef so everything I do, I proudly send him a pic to show him that I’m trying. After I sent him the picture of my egg salad, he wrote, “Awesome! Nice bias cut on the green onion.” Ummm, bias cut?? I have no idea what that is, but apparently I did a good job! I responded, “I totally meant to do bias cuts…” :) Let’s see what I can come up with next!!

Link: Homemade Mayo

Leave a Reply

