Bake Your Heart Out

Pie

Creation: Apple Pie

Location: My Kitchen

After-Taste: OMG!!!! Hell has officially frozen over!! I made a PIE! And a pie that actually tastes GOOD!! On this Sunday, I had a lot of time to kill, so I got a weird thought in my head to try and make a pie. From scratch. Yes, crust and all. Making the dough was one of the greatest parts of the experience – I was so proud! I used a wine bottle as my rolling pin because I’m classy like that. And I decided I was going to attempt a lattice crust. Holy moly. Shit is getting real. And you know what? Creating the lattice was my favorite part! It was really fun, and a lot easier than I was expecting. The recipe I used told me to pour the sugar and butter liquid over the crust to have it seep through all the apples, but I decided to mix the liquid with the apples beforehand. Take note: if you bake a pie, make sure to put a cookie sheet below the pie in the oven. I made the mistake of not doing this and sugary liquid dripped all over the bottom of my oven that will be very difficult to clean. Oopsies! I’ve said many times I’m not very good in the kitchen and this mistake is a perfect example. But I’m getting better, and that’s all that matters. I’m very proud of my apple pie and I’m so happy that it looks good AND tastes good!

Link: Recipe

2 thoughts on “Bake Your Heart Out

  1. Pingback: Pies and Pints Your Heart Out | Blank Your Heart Out

Leave a Reply

